
Note: Employers are required to comply with all state and federal child labor laws when it comes to the employment of minors. (See attached Child 
Labor Law Poster) 

Form 601 

EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATE OF AGE AND SCHOOLING 

Oklahoma Department of Labor 
409 NE 28th Street, 3rd Floor 
Oklahoma City, OK. 73105 

Telephone (405) 521-6100/1-888-269-5353 
Email:  Labor.Info@labor.ok.gov Fax (405) 521-6015 

 
COUNTY  SCHOOL   

 

 LEGAL AGE to be employed in Oklahoma is 14 years. DO NOT ISSUE IF STUDENT IS NOT AT LEAST 14 YEARS OF AGE  

 

INFORMATION FOR EMPLOYER 

An Employment Certificate of Age and Schooling is accepted as proof of age under the child labor provision of the State Labor Law. This Certificate protects the 
employer only if it shows the minor to be the legal age of 14 years or older for the occupation in which he/she is employed. 

This Certificate does not relieve the employer from its legal responsibility of strict compliance with Oklahoma's Child Labor Laws, 40§ O.S. 71, et seq., regardless 

of any information contained herein. 

Keep this Certificate on file as long as the minor is in your employ. This Certificate is to be surrendered to the minor named herein whenever he/she leaves your 
employ. If not claimed within thirty days after leaving employment, this Certificate shall be sent to the State Commissioner of Labor. This Certificate is not valid 
for any other employer or occupation than the one named herein. 

 

 
 

This Certificate is to be issued only when the person applying has complied with compulsory School Laws, Title 70, Section 10 and has furnished 
legal proof of age as required by Title 40, Section 79, O.S. 1981. Send one (1) copy to the employer; mail, fax, or e-mail one (1) copy to the State 
Commissioner of Labor, Oklahoma City; and attach one (1) copy to the corresponding Application Form (No. 600) and retain these two (2) forms 
on file at the issuing office for five (5) years. 

 

Name 
(Minor) 

SS# Date of Birth Age Sex   

 

Mailing Address Telephone      

(Including Zip Code) 

Evidence of Age Accepted: 

Birth Certificate Certificate of Baptism showing date of birth and place of baptism Passport showing age of child 
 

Certificate of arrival in the United States issued by U.S. Immigration Office showing age of child Life insurance policy at least one year old showing age of child 
 

Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood (CDIB) showing date of birth 
 
 

Student's Job Title  Industry      

Hours worked: From To And on: 
(start ) (finish) 

Sun Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat 

 

Business Name  Business Telephone       

 

   Address of Employer Email Address   
(Including Zip Code) 

 

(Signature of Minor) (Date) 

 
 

(Signature of Issuing Officer) (Date) 

 
(School of Issuing Officer) (Address of Issuing Officer) (City) (State) (Telephone) 

 
    _______________________________________________________________     
       (School email address) 

WHD-91-7-01 (REV. 04/2025)  

Print Form 

mailto:Labor.info@labor.ok.gov


Break Periods 

 
STATE OF OKLAHOMA 

 

Sectio n 7J e t . s eq . of Title -10 of lhe Okla homa Slatutes 

Applicable to minors DER 16 years of age 
 

 
 

  Minimum Age 14 years of age 

Employ1nent 

Certificate 

Employment certificate is issued  by the school and  is required  for all employed 

mi no rs, including home schoo led minors and minors from out-of -state working in 

Oklahoma. 

 

Employers are required to have an employ ment certificate from the school before 

a minor is allowed to work . 
 

Note to Is s uing O fficer( . ): Minor s must complv with compulsory School 

Laws, Title 70 Section 10 
 

School in session -  minors restricted to: 

No more than three (3) hours per school day 

No more than eig ht (8 ) hours per non-school day 

o more than-eighteen (18) hours per school week 

 
School not in session - minors restricted to: 

No more than eight (8) hours per non-school day 

  No more than forty (40) hours per non-school week 

For every five (5) hours worked - Thirty (30) minute rest period 

  For every eight (8) hours worked - One (I) hour rest period 

From Tuesday after Labor Day through May 31st - mi nors : 

Can not work before 7:00 a.m. and not after 7:00 p.m. 

 

From June I " through Labor Day - minors: 

Can not work before 7:00 a.m. and not after 9:00 p.m. 
 

Prohibited 

Occupations 

Occupation 

Baking 
Cooking 
Demolition 
Grills 
Load in g 
Mining 

which threaten health and well-being in clud e, but  not limited to: 

Communi cations Construction 
Coole .rs Cutters 
Freezers Fryers 
Hoisting device s Ladders 
Machinery Manufacturing 
Motor vehicles Mowers 

Power-Dr ive n 
Public Util i ties 
S torag e 
Warehouse 

Processing Public messen ge r 
Repair Slicers 
Transportation Unloading 
Weed eate rs Work rooms 
Youth peddling 

 

For information on hazardous occupations for 16 and 17 year olds. contact 

the United States Depa rtment of Labor at 1-866-487-92-13 
 

 

 

 

 
 

Oklahoma Department of Labor 
 

1-888-269-5353 

www.labor.ok.gov 

Hours Standard 

Times Standard 

http://www.labor.ok.gov/

